Navpatrika Puja

logo min

Durga Puja Dates Muhurat in 2021

Maha Saptami is the 1st day of Durga Puja. On this day falls the ritual of Nabapatrika Poojan. Nabapatrika is also known as Kolabou Pooja. In the states of Bengal, Assam and Orissa, Durga Pooja is performing by the mixture of nine different leaves. All the nine different leaves are believed to be the nine manifestation of the Goddess. The nine leaves include the leaves of banana, pomegranate, rice, bilva, turmeric, barley, kacchi, ashok and manka.

Navpatrika Puja Vidhi

  1. The Pooja of Maha Saptami starts after the Maha Snaan, and it is called as Kolabou Snaan. Doing Maha Snan on Maha Saptami engender the devotees with the grace and blessings of Goddess Durga.
  2. In the Nabapatrika Poojan, Snan is done by tying all the 9 leaves together.
  3. After the Maha Snaan, the Nabapatrika is overstated with white Saree having red borders in analogy to the tradition of Bengal.
  4. After the Maha Snan Praan Pratishtha is done. In this ritual, the idol of Goddess Durga is placed at the worship place.
  5. After the Praan Pratishtha Shodashopachara Pooja is done. In this Pooja, Goddess Durga is worshipped by offering her water, flowers, fruits and sandalwood. In the end, Maha Aarti is performing and then the Prasad is distributed.